Welcome to the 2021 Pre-Convention Nominations and Voting page. In January 2019, the Convention of the Diocese of Washington voted to continue the process by which pre-convention activities could be conducted online. This enables eligible diocesan clergy, wardens, and lay delegates to participate in the online regional elections process.

Before the voting process is launched, diocesan staff will ensure that all parishes have provided us with the most current list of clergy, wardens, and delegates who are eligible to participate in the voting process. Members of the Diocese had the opportunity to submit themselves for nomination for open positions on the Diocesan Council and Standing Committee from October 1 to October 15. Nominations have been concluded.

In accordance with our canons, no balloting is required for positions in which only one person has been nominated. Therefore, there will be  no need to vote on any positions that were not contested. Results are and will be listed here. Voting for contested positions will occur November 1 – November 15, 2021. Voting criteria will be e-mailed to clerical members, wardens, and convention delegates.

The final slate of Standing Committee nominees will be voted on at convention on January 29, 2022. Terms for those regionally elected as regional council members will begin February 1, 2022.


The Standing Committee is a body that has eight members, including four priests and four laypersons. Under the Episcopal Church Canons, the Standing Committee has three principal responsibilities. It must approve all candidates for ordination, determine whether to approve requests from parishes that wish to sell or encumber real property. In addition, the Standing Committee serves as the counsel of advice to the Bishop of the Diocese. Each Region may select one priest and one layperson to be among the nominees for election to the Standing Committee at the upcoming Annual Diocesan Convention. Two priests and two lay people will be elected for two terms at the Diocesan Convention. The terms will run from February 1, 2022 through January 31, 2024.


The Diocesan Council serves as the governing board of the Diocese and, much like a parish vestry, has the responsibility for fiduciary oversight and general leadership of the Diocese. Each of the eight regions of the Diocese elects one lay and one clerical member to serve on Diocesan Council. Members of Diocesan Council serve for three-year terms. Terms on Diocesan Council are staggered, so that approximately one-third of the regional representatives are elected each fall. Terms will run from February 1, 2022 through the January 31, 2025.

Voting will be conducted November 1–15, 2021. The following nominations were made and will be voted upon by their respective regions:


Lay Nominees to Standing Committee

Anne LeVeque, Ascension, Sligo Parish
I am a vestry member of Church of the Ascension, Sligo Parish in Silver Spring, Maryland. I have served one term on Standing Committee and would like to have your support in serving another term. I am a lifelong Episcopalian, and have been an EfM mentor, a vestry member, a senior warden, and I am currently a member of the General Board of Examining Chaplains of the Episcopal Church. I live in Takoma Park, Maryland, and work as a librarian at the Takoma Park Maryland Library.

Jewell Little, Grace Church, Silver Spring
I have been a member of Grace Church, Silver Spring, MD for over 25 years. During that time I have served on the vestry, served as a LEM, a Daughter of the King, a volunteer in Grace Church’s thrift shop, The Pennyworth Shop, and as President of the shop’s Board for 3 years. I also served on the altar guild and as a visiting Eucharistic Minister. I am now serving on the Transition Committee for our new rector. In the community, I have served as facilitator for Multi-Cultural Dialogues on race and religion held in Montgomery County Maryland and as facilitator for book discussions on racial understanding. I am a lawyer and have worked in the area of Civil Rights for over 15 years and now as a mediator for conflict resolution.

Clerical Representative to Diocesan Council

The Rev. Patricia Alexander, St. Dunstan’s
Patricia Alexander currently is Rector of St. Dunstan’s, Bethesda; from 2011-19, she served as Head Chaplain at St. Andrew’s Episcopal School in Potomac. She is a member of the Commission on Ministry and one of twelve Rectors in the inaugural Tending Our Soil cohort. Having previously been elected to two terms on Diocesan Council in the Diocese of NY, Patty would be honored to serve the Bishop and Diocese of Washington in a similar capacity now.

The Rev. Anne DerseSt. John’s, Norwood Parish
The Rev. Anne Elizabeth Derse, serves as Deacon and Minister for Community Engagement at St. John’s Norwood Episcopal Church in Chevy Chase, MD, where she has worked since 2014.  At St. John’s she advances engagement with the community, the government and non-profits, connecting the church to the world and supporting ministry and advocacy on social justice issues.  These include racial equity, food insecurity, gun violence prevention, support for immigrants, refugees and asilees, interfaith relations, alleviating homelessness and promoting peace in the Holy Land.  She served on the Bishop’s Task Force examining the role of the Washington National Cathedral in national life in 2017, and currently serves as Co-Chair of the EDOW Afghan Refugee Response Team.  She was appointed to the Montgomery County, Maryland, County Executive’s Faith Community Advisory Board in 2021 and has served on the board of the American Friends of the Episcopal Diocese of Jerusalem since 2020. She attended the Episcopal Diocese of Washington’s Deacon School and Wesley Theological Seminary in Washington D.C. 2015-18 and was ordained in 2018. Prior to ordination, Anne was a career Foreign Service Officer with the U.S. Department of State for over thirty years, serving in Asia, Europe and the Middle East. She was the U.S. Ambassador to Lithuania 2009-2012 and to Azerbaijan 2006-2009. She is a member of the American Academy of Diplomacy and serve on the boards of the American Councils for International Education. She received a B.A. in French and Linguistics from Macalester College in St. Paul, Minnesota in 1976 and an M.A. in International Relations from John’s Hopkins SAIS in 1971. She is married with four children.


Lay Nominee to Standing Committee

Michael ArmstrongSt. Margaret’s
I am currently serving in my first term as Senior Warden after two terms as Junior Warden and past service as Stewardship Chair, Rummage Sale Chair, choir member, and volunteer in a variety of other roles. My professional work involves executive management with a background in law, journalism, political organizing, and promoting cultures of innovation and inclusion.

Jason Crighton, St. Paul’s, K Street
As I testified before our Presiding Bishop at 2020’s Revival: “I follow our Episcopal branch of the Jesus movement because it means to be on the right side of history, and theology!” The Church’s future requires newer, more diverse views. Nationally, I’m one of the youngest to serve at General Convention. I’ve served twice on a vestry amidst its rebuild, relaunch, and rector search. I join the White House’s Faith & Community Engagement call hosted weekly. Good governance is sacred ministry. I’ll listen and serve EDOW with accountability and love.

Laurel MalsonSt. Paul’s, K Street
Laurel Pyke Malson is a member of St. Pauls-K St, and a partner at Crowell & Moring LLP. Over the past 30 years or more at St. Paul’s, she has served as Senior and Junior Warden, member of several Rector search committees, the Grate Patrol, and Chorister Parent committees. She also has served several terms on the PECF Board, and currently serves on the Board’s Continuing Committee for Student Safety.


Lay Representative to Diocesan Council