Diocesan Council is the governing board for the diocese and is empowered to act on behalf of diocesan convention while it is not in session. The Council collaborates with the Bishop in developing and executing the diocese’s missional strategies, presenting a diocesan budget to the convention, and authorizing diocesan expenditures. See Diocesan Canon 27 for other responsibilities set forth to the Council.

Diocesan Council Meeting Dates

Diocesan Council generally meets on the second Tuesday of the month from 6:00 – 8:30 p.m.
Council Members: Login to the Committee eDocument Portal

Council Members

The Council is composed of the Bishop, one clerical and one lay member elected from each of the eight regions, two clerical and two lay at-large members elected by Convention, three members appointed by the Bishop, and several ex officio members.
You may contact your representatives:


North Montgomery County

The Rev. Javier García Ocampo (2024) and Gordon Donnelly (2023)

Central Montgomery County

The Rev. James Isaacs (2023) and Kathy Staudt (2022)

South Montgomery County

The Rev. Sari Ateek (2022) and Linda Baily 

North DC

The Rev. Kristen Hawley (2023) and Paul Brewster (2024)

Central DC

The Rev. Richard Wall (2022) and Matt Taylor (2023)

South DC

The Rev. William Stafford-Whittaker (2024) and Emma Tucker (2022)

North Prince George County

The Rev. Timothy Johnson (2022) and Ian Hutson (2023)

Southern Maryland

The Rev. Chris Jubinski (2024) and Jo Appold (2022)

Appointed Members

Vincent Napoleon (2022), The Rev. Ricardo Sheppard (2023) and The Rev. Kate Heichler (2024)

Ex Officio Members

Bishop Mariann, Bishop Chilton, Elsie E. Kirton (President of ECW), Jonathan Nicholas (Treasurer), Keith Roachford (Secretary), Stephen Gibson (Chair of Finance), John Van de Weert (Chancellor), The Rev. Andrew Walter (Canon to the Ordinary)