The Washington Episcopal Holy Land Committee supports the Episcopal Diocese of Jerusalem and the Middle East, which operates through dozens of parishes, numerous schools, and several clinics, hospitals and rehabilitation centers. The schools and medical facilities serve Muslims, Christians and people of all faiths throughout Palestine and the Occupied Territories of the West Bank and Gaza, Israel, Jordan, Syria and Lebanon.


The diocese began a companion relationships with the Episcopal Diocese of Jerusalem and the Middle East in 2009. The Washington Episcopal Holy Land Committee works to continue to fulfill the agreement in the areas of awareness, assistance and advocacy.

Many members of the diocese have made pilgrimages to the Holy Land. The committee sponsors pilgrimage scholarships for young adults and recommends upcoming pilgrimages being organized. Contact the committee for more information and join its next bi-monthly meeting.

Tom Johnson chairs the committee. Parishioners from St. John’s Lafayette Square, St. Mark’s Capitol Hill, St. Columba’s, Redeemer, Grace Church Georgetown, Christ Church Durham Parish, St. John’s O Street, St. John’s Norwood Parish, Good Shepherd Silver Spring, St. Alban’s, the Cathedral Congregation and other parishes actively serve on the committee and provide leadership and support in our various activities. Contact the group at [email protected] to volunteer or request their weekly Upcoming Events newsletter.


Since September 2012, the committee has offered parishes a 30-60 minute adult hour program, Promoting a Just Peace in the Holy Land. 

The program is based on a 25-35 minute slide and video presentation. Using photographs, maps, and video excerpts, it introduces the situation on the ground as experienced by pilgrimage participants and provides an overview of the parishes and institutions of the Diocese of Jerusalem, closing with what Episcopalians can do.

If you have questions about the Committee’s presentation or would like to discuss scheduling it for your congregation, please contact the committee at [email protected].